Consider the termite…

There was a very interesting interview on the BBC Radio 4 Today programme this morning with Sir David Attenborough, who is presenting a new TV series, Darwin and the Tree of Life. 

Q: But you are though known to be an atheist…

Attenborough: I hope I am known to be an agnostic…

Q: You have talked a little bit about your beliefs… One wonders..everything that you do, the kind of stuff you look at fills us all with awe. Do you ever think…I wonder could there be some divine force that designed this system of natural selection?

Attenborough: No I don’t think there’s a Divine force that designs a system. But I sometimes think about myself looking at the inside of a termite hill and seeing a million termites all toiling away, all doing different jobs: the workers repairing the wall, the soldiers setting their armed guard, and others looking after the nursery and so on, all busy working away. And I know perfectly well that they can’t see me because they are blind. They simply don’t have the sense organs to realise that that’s where they are. And I sometimes think, maybe we’re a bit like that. We don’t have the perceptions, except very very dimly, that there may be something beyond there, bigger there, that we can’t conceive of. 

I think Paul would have agreed:

In their case  the god of this world has blinded the minds of the unbelievers, to keep them from seeing the light of the gospel of the glory of Christ, who is the image of God. 2 Corinthians 4:4

Leave a Reply

